July 29th, 2013 – Los Angeles, CA – The 25th Annual Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards (“The Eisners”) were held last week at Comic-Con International in San Diego, Calif., showcasing the best in comics published in 2012 and BOOM! Studios is proud to announce ADVENTURE TIME was honored with the award for Best Publication for Kids (Ages 8-12).

This is the second straight year that BOOM! has won the Best Publication for Kids (Ages 8-12) category. BOOM! also won in 2012 for SNARKED, the first year the category was added to the Eisners. Previously, the category was Best Title for Younger Readers/Best Comics Publication for a Younger Audience and was split in 2008 into Best Publication for Kids and Best Publication for Teens. Then in 2012, Best Publication for Kids was split again into Best Publication for Early Readers (up to age 7) and Best Publication for Kids (ages 8-12). BOOM! Studios is proud to be on the forefront of the growing all-ages market as The Eisners continue to expand the number of categories, highlighting quality comics for younger readers.

Only three other licensed properties have been honored with an Eisner Award in the 25-year history of the awards. The most recent was Gumby in 2007 in the Best Title for Younger Readers/Best Comics Publication for a Younger Audience category.

ADVENTURE TIME, written by Ryan North (DINOSAUR COMICS) and drawn by Shelli Paroline and Braden Lamb (ICE AGE) is a monthly comic series based on the top-rated Cartoon Network animated series of the same name.

“I’m so incredibly proud of my team on this book…we put so much love into Adventure Time every month, it’s great that the readers can see it!,” says Shannon Watters, Senior Editor at BOOM! Studios.

The Eisners, named for renowned cartoonist Will Eisner (creator of THE SPIRIT and numerous award-winning graphic novels), are widely considered the highest honor in the comic book industry. The finalists on the ballot are selected by a blue-ribbon committee that considers thousands of entries submitted by publishers and creators. The nominees are then voted on by all parts of the comic book industry: writers, artists, and other creators; publishers; editors; and retailers and distributors.

About Newsdesk