Baltimore Comic-Con’s Annual Yearbook Returns!

295Baltimore Comic-Con’s Yearbook Returns!
Featuring Stan Sakai and Usagi Yojimbo!

The Baltimore Comic-Con is proud to announce the return of the Baltimore Comic-Con Yearbook, celebrating the creators appearing at the show. This book of art features some of our guests interpreting the Usagi Yojimbo characters, sometimes in conjunction with their own creations, in a celebration of creator-owned properties.

As a bonus, we have a scavenger hunt of sorts. When you buy the book, you’ll get a list of our 38 Yearbook contributors and their table numbers. Get 10 of them to sign it, and come back to the booth for your choice of an added print by either Frank Cho, Ray Fawkes, Michael Golden, Terry Moore, or Mark Texeira! For every 5 extra signatures beyond the first 10, you get an extra print!

Usagi Yojimbo was created by Stan Sakai and first published in 1984, launching in Albedo, a self-published anthology by Steve Gallacci, followed by an appearance in Critters from Fantagraphics in 1985, and finally its own series from the same publisher in 1987, all in black & white. In 1993, Usagi made the jump to color at Mirage Publishing, and moved to Dark Horse in 1996, where it remains to this day. Nearly 30 years of Usagi Yojimbo have seen print in book, TV, and digital formats.

“Stan is a great friend of the Baltimore Comic-Con,” said Marc Nathan, show promoter for the Baltimore Comic-Con. “His timeless, classic characters are the perfect source for our guests and friends to interpret for the Baltimore Comic-Con’s second ever Yearbook, and we adore the contributions, Stan’s work, and Stan himself for allowing us to honor him in this fashion.”

The art created for the 2013 Baltimore Comic-Con Yearbook celebrating nearly 30 years of Stan Sakai’s Usagi Yojimbo will be auctioned at this special event! Don’t miss this opportunity to own original art featuring Stan’s characters as depicted by artists including Roger Andrews, David Bullock, Jim Calafiore, Richard Case, Bernard Chang, Frank Cho, Steve Conley, Jason Copland, Jeremy Dale, Ray Fawkes, David Finch, John Gallagher, Agnes Garbowska, Jose Luis Garcia-Lopez, Michael Golden, Jimmy Gownley, Ken Hunt, Chris Kemple, Roger Langridge, David Mack, Mark Mariano, Tradd Moore, Ryan Ottley, David Petersen, Brandon Peterson, Khoi Pham, Joe Prado, Ron Randall, Ivan Reis, Sara Richard, Craig Rousseau, Stan Sakai, Scott Christian Sava, Chris Schweizer, Walter Simonson, Edward Smith, Mark Sparacio, Mark Texeira, Christopher Uminga, Mark Wheatley, Rich Woodall, Thom Zahler, and Chrissie Zullo!

The book will be sold, and the art auction will be held at 5pm in our Main hall, in Booth #2505. The book will be available at the Baltimore Comic-Con for $20.

Tickets are now available for VIP and General Admission at the Baltimore Comic-Con!

Buy your convention tickets now and save time at the show! –
For Harvey Award Tickets –

I’ll See You In Baltimore 2013
This year’s confirmed guests for the show include: Josh Adams (Doctor Who); Neal Adams (First X-Men); Mark Bagley (Fantastic Four); Art Baltazar (Aw Yeah Comics!, Tiny Titans); Brian Bolland (Dial H); Harold Buchholz (Archie Comics); Mark Buckingham (Fables); Sal Buscema (Amazing Spider-Man); Frank Cammuso (Knights of the Lunch Table, Otto’s Orange Day); Mike Carey (Suicide Risk, The Unwritten); Jimmy Cheung (Avengers vs. X-Men); Frank Cho (Savage Wolverine); Steve Conley (Bloop); Amanda Conner (Before Watchmen: Silk Spectre); Jamie and Tyler Cosley (Cody the Cavalier, Ninja Squirrel); J.M. DeMatteis (Phantom Stranger); David Finch (Justice League of America); Franco (Aw Yeah Comics!, Tiny Titans); John Gallagher (Buzzboy, Roboy Red); Zack Giallongo (Broxo); Chris Giarrusso (G-Man); Keith Giffen (Masters of the Universe); Jimmy Gownley (Amelia Rules!, The Dumbest Idea Ever!); Joe Hill (Locke and Key); Jason Horn (Ninjasaur); Adam Hughes (Before Watchmen: Dr. Manhattan); Denis Kitchen (The Oddly Compelling Art of Denis Kitchen); Barry Kitson (Empire); Roger Langridge (Popeye); Paul Levitz (World’s Finest); Kevin Maguire (World’s Finest); Mike Maihack (Cleopatra in Space); Mark Mariano (Happyloo); Billy Martin (Vitriol, the Hunter); Dave McDonald (Hamster Sam); Mark McKenna (Star Wars, Banana Tail); Jason Mewes (Jay and Silent Bob’s Super Groovy Cartoon Movie); Mike Mignola (Hellboy In Hell); Jamar Nicholas (Leon: Protector of the Playground); Chris O>Matic (The Chris O>Matic Show!); Jimmy Palmiotti (Batwing); Dan Parent (Archie, Veronica, Kevin Keller); George Perez (World’s Finest); David Petersen (Mouse Guard); Joe Prado (Earth 2); Ivan Reis (Aquaman); Dave Roman – Saturday only (Astronaut Academy, Teen Boat); Chris Samnee (Daredevil); Jeff Schultz (Archie, Jughead); Louise Simonson (X-Factor); Walt Simonson (The Mighty Thor); Kevin Smith (Batman: The Widening Gyre); Allison Sohn (sketch card artist); Frank Stack (My Cancer Year); Bobby Timony (Night Owls, Detectobot); Mark Waid (Indestructible Hulk), Bill Willingham (Fables); and Thom Zahler (My Little Pony).

In the coming weeks, look for more announcements from the Baltimore Comic-Con. We are looking forward to highlighting our guests, the Harvey Awards, industry exclusives, and programming. The latest developments can always be found on our website, Twitter, and Facebook pages.

This year’s Baltimore Comic-Con will be held September 7-8, 2013. Convention hours are Saturday 10 AM to 7 PM and Sunday 10 AM to 5 PM. The ceremony and banquet for the Harvey Awards will be held Saturday night, September 7th.

About Newsdesk